Isla Trench Coat

I’ve realized I’m a bit behind on my blog posts… I made this coat prior to my trip to Paris in early June. I love it! I realized I did the back vent lining attachment a bit wrong, but most people won’t notice that, ;). The pattern is the Isla Trench Coat by Named Pattern.

Overall, the instructions were good, minus the vent lining to exterior attachment and flap pocket construction. I cut a US size 12, EU size 44, with 3″ FBA.

I realized I hadn’t lengthened the cape along with lowering the bust point, so the dart showed instead of being hidden by the cape. Luckily, I had enough extra fabric to redo the front capelet pieces.

As you can see, major difference!

The other tricky spot was the flap pockets. It was a little confusing, so I took pics as I went to maybe help others out in the future, ;). I took images each step of the way.

I made this coat out of a water resistant polyester twill from Mood Fabrics with a blue polyester plaid lining from Jo-Ann’s that was on sale. Perfect for a water resistant trench coat for Tennessee springs, ;).

I interfaced my pieces using a lightweight nylon knit interfacing purchased from Vogue Fabrics. As my fabric was already a little stiff, this offered just enough extra support for the high stress points and buttons.

Overall, the fabric was easy to work with and is water resistant enough for a drizzle but not a downpour. I wore it nearly everyday while in Paris.

Added a pop of collar to the under collar.

Photos of me wearing my beautiful trench coat in Paris, ;).

Leave a comment